Author: JHS

sketch Greene farmhouse
Article

From Greene Farmhouse to Shoreby Hill

The Greene farmhouse, one of the oldest buildings on the island, was spared by the British in 1775. An 1891 court decision allowed for the development of the farmland into the private community of Shoreby Hill.

Read More
Topographical atlas 1895
Article

Maps of Our Island

Explore Jamestown through the Society’s collection of maps of Conanicut Island beginning with a copy of a 1657 “upside down” map.

Read More