
The Armbrust Family
The Armbrust family history includes three generations of men who played important roles in Jamestown during the 19th and 20th centuries.

The Armbrust family history includes three generations of men who played important roles in Jamestown during the 19th and 20th centuries.

Jamestown RI completed the purchase of Fort Getty from the federal government in 1955 guaranteeing its use as a town park for a minimum of twenty years.

Seven sites in Jamestown were constructed or repaired by Jamestown workers with funding from the Works Progress Administration (WPA) part of the New Deal Public Works programs.

Two Jamestown men named Hazard, one a wealthy college student and the other a slave, served as substitutes for Revolutionary War draftees.

Jamestown Historical Society’s 2025 house tour features three Victorian cottages built in 1874 in the summer colony known as Conanicut Park

Sheep’s wool was an important part of Jamestown’s pastoral economy until the early 20th century. The JHS collection includes three of the tools used to process
wool.

The Jamestown School building on Lawn Ave, dedicated September 18, 1955, replaced the Carr Elementary and Clarke Middle Schools.

In July 1924 USS Shenandoah, the first airship to use helium, practices mooring and unmooring to the USS Patoka off Jamestown Rhode Island.

The Pinto family moved to Jamestown in 1929 and operated a fruit store on Narraganset Ave through the 1980s. A daughter and son encountered legal problems in town.

The JHS collection includes an English Blue Staffordshire transferware plate decorated with an image commemorating the 1636 landing of Roger Williams in Rhode Island. Transferware was a way of decorating pottery developed in the later half of the 18th century.
Sign up if you do not want to become a member at this time, but would like to receive the JHS public announcements, articles, and news updates. Members do not need to sign up here as they will automatically receive all this and invitations to members-only events as well when they join. The JHS will never share the email addresses in our database.
The Jamestown
Historical Society
PO Box 156
Jamestown, RI
02835